Seems like a funny title for any who know me. I am the grand procrastinator. If it isn’t late you can bet I didn’t write it. Writing for me is always a thin line between flashes of pen strokes gliding across the once blank page, translating the story in my mind into a tangible plot for others to read, and moments of utter envy. (yeah JK I am thinking about you!!)

So why am I writing about time? Because if you don’t make the best of it you will never finish your book. I have read many things on writing but there are only a two that stick. if you are busy like me ( during the day I am a printer, gotta make those ends meet) and you have a story on your mind take the write every free moment method. Problem is you have to practically live with a notepad tucked in your pocket, which can be awkward and a bit bulky. (Not to mention keeping all those little pieces of paper together is tricky.) But you will find your plot line making great progress.

Another method is to find your creative hour. Sounds weird and can take some time to figure out but it works. I myself am a night owl, ten to midnight are my time. I find this works especially well since I am often prone to writers block. Using your creative hour gives you your best shot at actually writing some thing. Finding your creative hour isn’t hard you probably already know, you just haven’t taken full advantage of it yet. Look for the time when you are the most inspired, when the words flow from your pen, typewriter, or laptop the fastest. note the time, odds are this is your creative hour. Trying these two techniques has helped me and hopefully will help you. To all my readers, Thanks for reading. Feel free to leave a comment.

9 thoughts on “Making the most of time.

  1. I find that I am the most creative and my thoughts flow freely at the most inopportune times. For instance, while I’m in the shower. I typically “jot” my notes down on my phone but clearly that won’t work while I’m in the shower.

  2. I find that my time to write tends to be around 9-11 at night, after the kids go to sleep. However, most of my ideas come to in bed in the early hours of the morning. I think that my mind is clear and fresh. Sometimes I forget those ideas though, especially if I fall back to sleep. I need to keep the notebook next to the bed.

  3. Exactly. I wonder if ideas coming to us in the dead of night is a trait all writers have??? Maybe we can’t sleep because our brains are special, we trained then to dream while we are awake.

  4. Good blog! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

