What is writers block? That is a question I wondered many times over when I first started writing. Those who have been writing for years are pretty mute on the subject. The usually response to my question is  the averting of their eyes, and full body cringe at the words Writers block. But I honestly wanted to know, as a new writer my stories simply poured out of me. The thought of not being able to write seemed ludicrous. I mean really, if you can dream of a story you can write it down. Right? 

Needless to say I was very idealistic then. I approached everything with a clearly thought out (borderline narrow minded) plan. Then I got my column and all my “what is writers block” inquiries finally caught up with me. My column was due at midnight it was 11:30 pm and my laptop screen was completely empty save for the blinking cruiser, that seemed to be blinking out your never going to make it, in Morse Code.

So what is writers block? Writers block is more then just not being able to find the words to describe your story in a way that satisfies you. I think the best way to bring out what writers block is would be with an illustration. My sister and I love to go ride our bikes. Around here there are a lot of hills that you have to pedal up, but then there is always the rush of the down hill ride. Well one day we were riding and it was really windy (hurricane season). The wind was at our face most of the ride. When we finally made it up the hill the wind was really picking up. During our usual coast down hill there was a moment when the wind was pushing us back up the hill and gravity was pulling us down, and for that moment we were stuck in suspended animation nether moving forward or backward. That is what writers block is, the feeling of being frozen while everything else moves about you, the feeling of doing all the work to pedal up the hill, without the gratifying cruise back down. Since that late night with the blank computer screen Writers block and I have become old frienemies, maybe some day I will beat him till then keep your frienemies close right. Thank you so much all you lovely readers for stopping by, hope to hear from you soon. The comment box is always open.

16 thoughts on “Writers block.

  1. Writer’s block. The enemy for sure. Well that is how I view it. To combat it, I usually get into a think tank with other writers, and then nut out ideas for our stories, and usually they spark my inspiration. They are my muses. ❤

    1. I completely get that, I don’t think people fully get the fact that there is more then just writers block, there is a block for every art. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment 🙂

    1. Tell me about it, I guess since writers block is my constant companion I can’t help but write about it. Thank you so much for leaving a comment. Come back anytime.

  2. To me, writer’s block occurs when I can’t think of where to start, or what I want to say. Or sometimes, writer’s block occurs and I just don’t want to write. Period. But luckily I’ve been writing long enough that I know the feeling will go away some day. It’s never permanent. The urge to write always returns.

  3. From my experience, writing is only very seldom, like downhill racing. Most of the time, it’s like running a marathon. And the greatest advantage, is discipline. Writer’s block is usually a breakdown of discipline. Wishing you much luck and pleasure from your blog. Would love to hear a little about you on your about page.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to leave such an insightful comment, and I agree. I never really thought of my writer’s block as being a break down of discipline. Well said thank you.

  4. Clearly you had chased away the writer’s block when you posted this as your words painted beautiful pictures of wind and bikes and sisters, Perhaps the best cure is to Just Do It.

Leave a Reply

