Head first or feet first? That is a question I ask myself whenever I find myself about to embark on something new. Head first means I don’t plan much past signing up or saving for something. Feet first means I carefully plan out every detail before I even take the first step. I find both techniques come with their own downside.

Head first puts you in the thick of it, you don’t know what you are in for, so the journey is a surprise you take step by step overwhelming at times but most of the time well worth the trouble. Problem with head first is you can make mistakes that feet first would have seen coming. Feet first you get to think it through map out where you want to go and possibly avoid any pit falls head first may have dropped you in. The trouble I find with feet first is that I often over think it talking myself out of even trying.

 I find myself thinking of this question because I seem to have morphed from head first to feet first midway through my book. I started head first with a story and a note pad. Now I am in the editing phase and slowed down to feet first trying to map out the edits and failing terribly. This is the first time I changed from one technique to another during the same project, and it is so confusing. So how do I get back to head first? That I don’t know yet, but it has been four months since I looked at the manuscript. I think I am now ready to finish this and get my story out head first. Thank you all my lovely readers for stopping by, the comment box is always open look forward to hearing from you.

8 thoughts on “Head first or Feet first?

    1. Thank you I like your way of thinking, this is why I love hearing from my readers. (Especially those in the writing world) Hopefully one day soon I will announce my book is out 🙂 Thank you so much for leaving a comment.

  1. Head first can be dangerous, if we don’t have complete faith and commitment. After all, the head is an organ that we can’t do without. I think that going to the project feet first is more prudent. And wishing you luck with your project.

Leave a Reply

