So up here in the north we have had a week of rainy days. Call it my Scottish roots but all that rain and fog put me in a creative mood. So what to write? I started this blog a few months back relishing the freedom I now have to write what I please. In hindsight I think I just gave myself enough of the proverbial rope to hang myself. Too much freedom can sometimes be just that, too much!

So what to do when you have too much on the brain, to settle down to write? This is when I like to do Free Writing. I recommend using a typewriter or a computer for free writing. Hand writing works but the rhymic typing puts you in a more relaxing state of mind plus most of us can type without looking, so if you close your eyes when you type reading your work after is more of a treat. 

 So how to do it? Free writing is simple just write whatever comes to mind. There are many ways to do it. When starting it is recommended that you set a timer for five minutes and just type whatever you think, don’t worry about typos just type. Later you can expand your time. Another way to free write is to free write with a theme. I like that method best it helps you focus on one thing for an extended amount of time. I free wrote a scene with one of my characters running for the first time. There are many themes to choose from when free writing such as the weather, hobby’s, your day, and even writing itself, anything you want.

Thank you all my lovely readers for stopping by, the comment box is always open, just waiting to hear from you!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Writing without limits.

  1. I compose in my head for days before I finally get in front of the lap top… I like the lap top because I can rearrange with ease… Rarely use handwriting but my husband bought me a handbound leather journal for Christmas that I am trying to write the finished poems in…

    1. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I use my laptop a lot as well, I mainly use handwriting when I am writing down a plot line. Your handbound journal sounds like a lovely place to keep poems 🙂

  2. I like this idea. I can relate to it as when I practiced as a life coach I used to encourage my clients to write Morning Pages ie three pages of longhand writing – strictly stream of consciousness. There has been much research into the subject of the transmission of thoughts from the brain to the hand, but I am prepared to give your suggestion a try. I wrote my Morning Pages for several years after reading Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way”.

  3. This is invaluable advice. :))) Can’t wait to try it the first chance I get! I can’t wipe the grin off my face right now. :))) Thanks!

      1. I used that prescribed technique with my latest post and it really brought out a lot of memories fitting of the daily prompt today. Thanks for the advice! 😀

  4. I tend to overthink what I’m doing, so sitting down and just writing what comes helps to free me up and keep me going. I think it’s a great way to stay productive in stretching the brain and exercising what your voice needs to say.

Leave a Reply

