I have been thinking a lot about editing and re-editing, mostly because I am elbow deep in edits for my book, and because recently I had the miss fortune of having one of my articles for the paper re-edited by the editor.

Now I have had word changes done to my column, restructured conclusions or introductions, but this was a complete overhaul, when I asked why? They said they were taking the character in my column in a new direction. The thing is I have always gotten good reviews on the column, so I found it odd that they would change it. 

This thought continued to bug me long after the column was printed. Unable to figure out why they changed my column, I began to think about why I changed some of my own characters in my books. I came up with: not a strong character, too boring, not memorable enough. I even changed a characters name in my book, because no one liked the name I picked for her.

The problem is, there was something people didn’t like about each of the characters I changed. People liked the character in my column. Which begs the question: if it’s not broke, does it still need a tune up?

The answer to that question I do not know. So I continue down this new road for my column, and leave you with this question, whose view of a character is best? the peoples, or the authors. Thank you so much all my lovely readers for stopping by. Remember the comment box is always open, can’t wait to hear from you.

12 thoughts on “Re-editing……?

  1. I used to write a regular article for a thinking woman’s magazine here in NZ. But I stopped when the editor made quite major changes to one or two articles without any discussion with me. I found this very heavy handed as I am sure you do. So I chose to move on.

    1. I have to admit I have considered moving on. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I can’t say enough how much I enjoy hearing from like minded readers.

  2. I think it should be the author’s call, and hopefully the people relate. Weird they changed you up since the people were on board. There must be a hidden agenda…

    1. I like your point of view, either side can be right depending on the skill level. But no I took over the column because it wasn’t doing well. Now it’s doing alright and they want to bring back the old character that wasn’t very well liked :/

  3. I think you go right inside yourself and ask. Has my integrity as the author been compromised and if it has been you say to them:”I need you to let me have creative control from now on and develop this in the direction that I assess to work well. If the ratings show signs of going down you have every right to ask me to change but NEVER play a trick like that again. If they tell you to piss off then good riddance to them – you need to put your energies elsewhere. However youve left them room to manoever by not stomping off in a dizzy fit!¬ Blessings! John

    1. Wow thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. This is why I call you all my lovely readers. The insight and like minded comments I have been getting really help. Thank you.

      1. You are doing really well getting recognised and need to draw back and think – who is worth it? If the still small voice inside indicates the publisher is disinterested in your real voice then no amount of money is worth the continued contract. That is my opinion and best wishes… Be careful if littleminded dollar seekers. They exist in every quarter of existence! Be yourself as its a VERY worthwhile self to be! Thanks

        John

  4. As an editor, I feel it is unethical to substantially change an author’s work without a discussion. When I do developmental editing on a piece, I make comments and ask questions for the writer to think about–but, they are suggestions, not dictates. Mechanics, grammar, and line edits are often done without discussion, but with track changes left on so the writer can see what I’m doing with his or her work.

    1. You are what I would call, a responsible editor. Your goal is to improve the work you get, and help the writer to grow. Well done and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

