It’s a Big Bad World by The Plain White T’s plays softly on my CD player, I sit here rubbing my sore arms, it’s funny the things you learn living in the country, Like flashing your lights and honking the horn at a moose in the road, is a sure way to get yourself killed. Walking in a field after a deep snow is a bad idea. Start shoveling from the bottom of the driveway to the top, just to name a few. I like to think of myself as an old hat in the tips and tricks of surviving in a small town where -20 and two foot overnight snowfalls are not unheard of. But I must say this last discovery came as quite the surprise. It started four years ago when we moved to our current residence. When we moved in there was a large open field with a few blueberry patches. It was Fall when we found the house and it was Spring by the time we closed and moved in. The lady who lived here before us said there are a lot of fields and trails throughout the property. The following year we found out the field was much more then an open field with a couple of blueberry patches, basically the whole field is covered in berries. We have been enjoying the berry harvest but I did start to notice a few small trees growing in the field, they were so cute like little bonsai trees. As the years went on I noticed more and more trees but it didn’t really matter it was a big field. Plus it was nice picking berries in the shade. The reality of the situation finally hit home when we noticed a lot of the berries were undersized. Come to find out blueberries are under size when they aren’t getting enough sun our field needed to be tended, but was it really that bad? Looking over some old photos I realized that it indeed was that bad. The field was once one large open place, now it is dappled with trees, and wild thorny blackberry vines. It was horrifying. It was then that I realized it never really was an open field, it was truly clear-cut land that was tended and cared for till it became the berry field we learned to love. Now the forest was reclaiming it. But my father, my sister, and I myself have decided that’s not going to happen! So for the last couple days we have been cutting, ripping, and digging our field back inch by inch. It’s exhausting and hard work but you can really see the difference and next year when Fall rolls around we will do it again because this blueberry field is one field the forest won’t take back. Thank you all my loverly readers for taking the time to read my post. Feel free to leave a message in the comment box I promise I read them all, can’t wait to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “The forest in the field.

Leave a Reply

